April 13, 2022
Harlem Quartet joins Charleston Symphony to premiere new concerto honoring the city's 350th anniversary

In recognition of the 350th anniversary of the City of Charleston, Harlem Quartet will partner with the Charleston Symphony on Saturday, April 16, 2022 for the world premiere of A Charleston Concerto.

Penned by local composer Edward Hart, the concerto commemorates the city's long history, from pre-colonial times to the present day. The concerto aims to give an honest account of Charleston's past and present, addressing the darker aspects of the city's history while also paying homage to its rich and distinctive culture.

The mixed concert program will also feature Black American composer Adolphus Hailstork's Fanfare on Amazing Grace, and will conclude with a canonical 19th-century work: Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4 in F Minor.

The two Saturday performances will take place at 12pm and 7:30pm. Tickets are available via the Related Link button below.

See Related:
Related Link
Back to List
Back to Top