cello and piano duo | Worldwide
Special Project: The Soul of the Americas

The Soul of the Americas celebrates the rich tapestry of musical influences across North and South America, featuring the works of seven iconic composers. Aaron Copland's El Salón México and George Gershwin's Cuban Overture were directly inspired by their travels to those respective countries. Leonard Bernstein was an ardent champion of Latin American music, including the music of Brazilian Heitor Villa-Lobos and Argentinian Alberto Ginastera. Osvaldo Golijov settled in the United States but his music draws on his Argentinian roots. Samuel Barber was enamored with diverse musical styles, as seen through his nostalgic Souvenirs.

Curated by Michael Brown and Nicholas Canellakis, with collaborators Orion Weiss and Ian David Rosenbaum, this program features unique combinations of piano, cello and percussion, and will take the listener on a sizzling journey through both hemispheres.

Aaron Copland:
El Salón México for Solo Piano (1932–1936; arr. Leonard Bernstein, 1941)
Leonard Bernstein:
Three Meditations from Mass (version for cello, piano, and percussion) (1978)
Samuel Barber:
Souvenirs for Piano, Four Hands, op. 28 (1951–1952)


Osvaldo Golijov:
Mariel for Cello and Marimba (1999)
Heitor Villa-Lobos:
Divagação for Cello, Piano, and Drum (1946)
Heitor Villa-Lobos:
A Maré Encheu from Guia Pratico for Solo Piano (1932)
O Polichinelo from Prole do Bebê for Solo Piano (1918)
Alberto Ginastera:
Pampeana No. 2, Rhapsody for Cello and Piano, op. 21 (1950)
George Gershwin:
Cuban Overture for Piano, Four Hands and Percussion (1932; Four Hands version arr. Gershwin)

Featured Artists
Posted: Oct-28-2019
Back to List
Back to Top